FRANCE (July 30, 2020) – COVID-19: Testing for travelers from certain countries, including US, implemented

  • France
  • 07/31/2020
  • Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP

High Priority

France is now requiring COVID-19 testing for individuals traveling from 16 countries prior to entering France. Most foreign travelers from these countries are still not allowed to enter France, with limited exceptions.

Key points:
• The high-risk 16 countries are: Bahrain, Brazil, Israel, India, Kuwait, Madagascar, Oman, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and the United States.
• Beginning Aug. 1, a mandatory PCR test will be required 72 hours before boarding a plane for France for those traveling from these countries.
• Individuals traveling from Bahrain, Panama, the UAE and the U.S. will have to present a negative PCR test 72 hours before boarding a plane for France, otherwise they will be denied boarding.
• For travelers from the other 12 countries, a mandatory test will be given at French airports if a traveler arrives in France without test results.
• The test will not be required for children under the age of 11.
Background: France has begun to lift some COVID-19 entry restrictions. Last month, France lifted entry restrictions for non-essential travel to France for citizens of European Union and Schengen Area countries. Earlier this month, France lifted restrictions on travel from 13 non-EU/EEA countries. While France has not issued an updated list yet, restrictions on travel from Serbia are likely to be re-imposed based on their inclusion in the list of 16 countries for which a COVID-19 test is required. International students who need to travel to France for study purposes have been able to do so since July 1.

BAL Analysis: Employers are encouraged to check with BAL for additional details, as travel requirements are fluid. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.